Servicenavigation

Statistik: mehr als Erbsen zählen

You are here:

Preliminary Courses for the Master's Programmes Statistics, Data Science and Econometrics

The Faculty of Statistics offers new Master students a total of 3 pre-courses to refresh Bachelor contents in Statistics and Data Science. Students are free to choose the courses they need for a successful start of their studies.

Attention: To participate in the courses you need your UniAccount to get access to the learning platform Moodle. You will receive your UniAccount after your enrolment. If you do not yet have a UniAccount, we can set up a temporary guest account for you. Please send us a short e-mail to precourse@statistik.tu-dortmund.de with details of your course of study.


In the following the 3 preliminary courses are briefly introduced:

Vorkurs Statistik (course language German)

The Vorkurs Statistik is a German-speaking 3-week classroom course with a 3-day introduction into the statistical software R. This year it will take place from 5th October to 23th October 2020 as an online live course via zoom (due to the corona virus).

The course is particularly aimed at Master students of the Statistics Master's programme who have not acquired a Bachelor's degree at our faculty or who would like to refresh their knowledge before starting their Master's. However, it can also be attended by Data Science and Econometrics students who prefer a German-language classroom course.

This course has the great advantage that an expert lecturer will be in charge of the course during the whole time and can individually respond to the questions and knowledge of the students.

All course materials and further information can be found on the TU Dortmund University internal learning platform Moodle.

Moodle course: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=21654
Enrolment key: statistik123

contact: M. Sc. Jana Gierse

Pre-Course Statistics (course language English)

The pre-course statistics is the English language equivalent of the Vorkurs Statistik. It is aimed at students of the English language courses Data Science and Econometrics, but can of course also be attended by students of the Master of Statistics.

This course is an e-learning course. All materials (lecture videos, scripts, exercises and solutions) are available on the TU Dortmund University internal learning platform Moodle at any time. This means that you can freely plan your time and do not have to be in Dortmund to participate.

In addition to the time flexibility, this preliminary course offers the opportunity to get used to the English language and English technical terms.

Moodle course: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=21434
Enrolment key: CFGauss

contact: M. Sc. Christina Meschede

Pre-Course Data Science (course language English)

The pre-course data science is also an e-learning course and covers important contents of the Data Science Bachelor. It is aimed at students of the Master's programme in Data Science, but can of course also be attended by students of the Master's programmes in Statistics or Econometrics.

All materials (lecture videos, scripts, exercises and solutions) are available on the TU Dortmund University's internal learning platform Moodle at any time. This means that you can freely plan your time and do not have to be in Dortmund to participate.

The course also offers you the opportunity to get used to the English statistical terminology.

Moodle course: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=16736
Enrolment key: vlds

Contact: M. Sc. Alexander Gerharz

Servicenavigation

Statistik: mehr als Erbsen zählen

Sie sind hier:

Mastervorkurse Statistik

Die Fakultät Statistik bietet neuen Master-Studierenden insgesamt 3 Vorkurse an, um Bachelorinhalte aus den Bereichen Statistik und Data Science aufzufrischen. Die Studierenden können sich daraus frei die Angebote wählen, welche sie für einen gelungenen Start ihres Studiums benötigen.

Wichtig: Zur Teilnahme an den Kursangeboten benötigen Sie Ihren UniAccount, um Zugang zur Lernplattform Moodle zu erhalten. Den UniAccount erhalten Sie nach Ihrer Einschreibung. Falls Sie noch keinen UniAccount haben, können wir Ihnen einen temporären Gastzugang einrichten. Schreiben Sie uns dazu eine kurze E-Mail an precourse@statistik.tu-dortmund.de mit Angabe Ihres Studiengangs.


Im Folgenden werden die 3 Vorkurse kurz vorgestellt:

Vorkurs Statistik (Kurssprache Deutsch)

Der Mastervorkurs Statistik ist ein deutschsprachiger 3-wöchiger Präsenzkurs mit einer 3 tägigen Einführung in die statistische Software R. Dieses Jahr findet er vom 5. Oktober bis zum 23. Oktober 2020 als Online-Live Kurs via Zoom statt (aufgrund der Corona-Ausnahmesituation).

Der Kurs richtet sich insbesondere an die Masterstudierende des Studiengangs Statistiks, die keinen Bachelor an unserer Fakutät erworben haben oder vor dem Start des Masters ihr Wissen auffrischen möchten. Er kann aber auch sehr gern von Data Science und Econometrics Studierende besucht werden, die einen deutschsprachigen Präsenzkurs bevorzugen.

Dieser Kurs hat den großen Vorteil, dass während der gesamten Zeit eine fachkundige:r Dozent:in den Kurs leitet und individuell auf die Fragen und Kenntnisse der Studierenden eingehen kann.

Alle Kursmaterialien und weitere Informationen finden sich auf der TU Dortmund internen Lernplattform Moodle.

Moodle-Kurs: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=21654
Einschreibeschlüssel: statistik123

Kontakt: M. Sc. Jana Gierse

Pre-Course Statistics (Kurssprache Englisch)

Der pre-course statistics ist das englischsprachige Äquivalent zum Vorkurs Statistik. Er richtet sich an die Studierenden der englischsprachigen Studiengänge Data Science und Econometrics, kann aber natürlich auch von Studierenden des Masters Statistik besucht werden.

Dieser Kurs ist ein e-learning Kurs. Alle Materialien (Vorlesungsvideos, Skripte, Übungen und Lösungen) stehen auf der TU Dortmund internen Lernplattform Moodle jeder Zeit zur Verfügung. Sie können sich somit Ihre Zeit frei einteilen und müssen zur Teilnahme nicht schon in Dortmund sein.

Außerdem bietet der Kurs Ihnen die Möglichkeit sich schon an die englisch-statistische Fachsprache zu gewöhnen.

Moodle-Kurs: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=21434
Einschreibeschlüssel: CFGauss

Kontakt: M. Sc. Christina Meschede

Pre-Course Data Science (Kurssprache Englisch)

Der pre-course data science ist ebenfalls ein e-learning Kurs und deckt wichtige Inhalte des Data Science Bachelors ab. Er richtet sich an die Studierenden des Master-Studiengangs Data Science, kann aber natürlich auch von Studierenden des Masters Statistik oder Econometrics besucht werden.

Alle Materialien (Vorlesungsvideos, Skripte, Übungen und Lösungen) stehen auf der TU Dortmund internen Lernplattform Moodle jeder Zeit zur Verfügung. Sie können sich somit Ihre Zeit frei einteilen und müssen zur Teilnahme nicht schon in Dortmund sein.

Außerdem bietet der Kurs Ihnen die Möglichkeit sich schon an die englisch-statistische Fachsprache zu gewöhnen.

Moodle-Kurs: https://moodle.tu-dortmund.de/course/view.php?id=16736
Einschreibeschlüssel: vlds

Kontakt: M. Sc. Alexander Gerharz