Servicenavigation


You are here:

Board of Directors

Contact

Dortmund Data Science Center (DoDSc)

The Dortmund Data Science Center (DoDSc) is an interdisciplinary center of the TU Dortmund where data science related research is consolidated within the TU Dortmund and its environment. It is supported by the faculties of Statistics, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics and is open for further participation and cooperation.

Interested parties can subscribe to our mailing list via the contact email address (in the right column). Professors, lecturers and the principal investigators of research projects at the TU Dortmund can contact us via this email address to apply for membership in the DoDSc.

The center covers aspects of research, teaching, infrastructure and transfer.

 

Further information is available on the website of DoDSc.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Research

The DoDSc consolidates existing competences and resources in data science at the TU Dortmund. It serves as a networking platform for the participating scientists in order to strengthen the interdisciplinarity of existing projects and to initiate future large-scale research projects.

There are already many activities at TU Dortmund on which to build: The newly established Competence Center Machine Learning as well as the Collaborative Research Centers 823 and 876, whose activities will be continued in the future and consolidated within the center.

Teaching

The center is intended to make a significant contribution to undergraduate training and further education in the field of data science.

Here the DoDSc builds on the Bachelor's degree program "Data Analysis and Data Management" and the Master's degree program "Data Science". Both are supported jointly by the faculties Statistics, Computer Science and Mathematics. Another training offer is the priority subject area "Data Science" in the Master's degree program Computer Science.

This offer is complemented by the certificate program "Data Science and Big Data", which is open to university graduates with a mathematical-statistical background.

Infrastructure

The activities of DoDSc are spread over the campus of the TU Dortmund. The aim of the DoDSc is therefore to create a common infrastructure with regard to personnel, premises and IT in the field of data sciences. Currently the Faculties of Statistics, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics are mainly involved. An extension of this circle, especially to further application areas, is pursued in the near future.

By participating in large-scale research projects, the DoDSc has access to relevant research data. Other data sources will continuously be made accessible. With regard to planning and administration of scientific computing resources, a close cooperation is maintained with the "Dortmunder Zentrum für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen" (DoWiR).

Transfer

For the integration of the DoDSc into the industrial environment, as well as for the strengthening of education, the transfer between data science and its industrial implementation is of great importance. Therefore, the DoDSc sees itself as a central platform for methodological basic research in the field of Industrial Data Science and for professional support with regard to conception, analysis and implementation.

The participating faculties have already produced successful spin-offs cooperating with the DoDSc. These spin-offs serve as examples for further data science start-ups. The DoDSc cooperates with the "Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer" and supports the "Excellence Start-up Center Dortmund, Südwestfalen & Region".

A further component of the transfer is the part-time certificate program "Data Science and Big Data" in cooperation with the "Center for Higher and Continuing Education". This area will be strengthened in the future by seminars and exhibitions.

Servicenavigation


Sie sind hier:

Vorstand

Kontakt

Willkommen im Dortmund Data Science Center (DoDSc)

Das Dortmund Data Science Center (DoDSc) ist ein interdisziplinäres Zentrum der TU Dortmund, an dem die datenwissenschaftliche Forschung innerhalb der TU Dortmund und in ihrem Umfeld gebündelt wird. Es wird getragen durch die Fakultäten Statistik, Informatik, Mathematik und Physik und ist offen für weitere Beteiligungen und Kooperationen.

Interessierte können sich unter der Kontakt Emailadresse (s. rechts) auf unseren E-Mailverteiler aufnehmen lassen. Hochschullehrer sowie die Leiter von Forschungsprojekten an der TU Dortmund können auf diesem Wege formlos die Mitgliedschaft im DoDSc beantragen.

Das Zentrum beinhaltet Aspekte der Forschung, der Lehre, der Infrastruktur und des Transfers.

Forschung

Das DoDSc bündelt vorhandene Kompetenzen und Ressourcen in den Datenwissenschaften an der TU Dortmund. Es dient der Vernetzung der beteiligten Wissenschaftler, um die Interdisziplinarität der bestehenden Projekte zu stärken und zukünftige Forschungsgroßprojekte zu initiieren.

An der TU Dortmund gibt es bereits viele Aktivitäten, auf denen aufgebaut wird. Vorrangig zu nennen ist das neu eingeworbene "Kompetenzzentrum Maschinelles Lernen" sowie die Sonderforschungsbereiche 823 und 876, deren Aktivitäten in Zukunft fortgesetzt und über das Zentrum vernetzt werden.

Lehre

Das Zentrum soll einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Aus- und Weiterbildung im Bereich Data Science bieten.

Hier baut das DoDSc auf den Bachelorstudiengang "Datenanalyse und Datenmanagement" und den Masterstudiengang "Datenwissenschaft" auf. Beide Studiengänge werden getragen durch die Fakultäten Statistik, Informatik und Mathematik. Zudem gibt es ein Schwerpunktgebiet "Data Science" im Masterstudiengang Informatik.

Dieses Angebot wird ergänzt durch den Weiterbildungsstudiengang "Data Science and Big Data", welcher offen ist für Hochschulabsolventen mit mathematisch-statistischer Vorbildung.

Infrastruktur

Die beteiligten Aktivitäten sind über den Campus der TU Dortmund verteilt. Ziel des DoDSc ist es daher, eine gemeinsame Infrastruktur hinsichtlich Personal, Räumlichkeiten und IT im Bereich der Datenwissenschaften, zu schaffen. Momentan sind hier die Fakultäten Statistik, Informatik, Mathematik und Physik beteiligt. Eine Ausweitung dieses Kreises insbesondere auf andere Anwendungsgebiete ist für die nahe Zukunft geplant.

Über die Beteiligung an Großforschungsprojekten hat das DoDSc Zugang zu relevanten Forschungsdaten. Andere Datenquellen werden kontinuierlich erschlossen. Bezüglich der Planung und Verwaltung von Rechnerressourcen wird in enger Abstimmung mit dem "Dortmunder Zentrum für Wissenschaftliches Rechnen" (DoWiR) zusammengearbeitet.

Transfer

Sowohl für die Einbettung des DoDSc in das industrielle Umfeld, als auch für die Stärkung der Ausbildung ist der Transfer zwischen Wissenschaft und deren industrieller Umsetzung von hoher Bedeutung. Daher versteht sich das DoDSc als zentraler Ansprechpartner für methodische Grundlagenforschung im Bereich des Industrial Data Science und für die fachliche Unterstützung bzgl. Konzeption, Analyse und deren Realisierung.

Die beteiligten Fakultäten haben bereits erfolgreiche Ausgründungen hervorgebracht, mit denen das DoDSc kooperiert. Diese Ausgründungen sollen beispielhaft für weitere Firmengründungen im Bereich Data Science sein. Dabei arbeitet das DoDSc mit dem "Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer" zusammen und unterstützt das "Exzellenz Start-up Center Dortmund, Südwestfalen & Region".

Ein weiterer Baustein des Transfers bildet das berufsbegleitende Zertifikatsstudium "Data Science and Big Data" in Zusammenarbeit mit dem "Zentrum für Weiterbildung". Dieser Bereich soll zukünftig durch Seminare und Messen gestärkt werden.